Veggie-full Mini Turkey Loaves

First, I have to start today by saying:

HappyHalloween

Go eat some candy, and I mean REAL candy, none of this “make Halloween healthy” bullshit. That’s for every other day leading up to Halloween. This is the real deal. One day won’t kill you.

And if you feel the need to even out the damage with something green, then today’s recipe is for you. Or we can say I created a really gross looking, yummy tasting recipe in honor of the creepy day.

Funny story:

A few weeks back when my family came to visit, we were all talking about my blog, food, etc. during dinner. My grandma was saying that she admires the way I eat, but she commented on the way my food often looks.

It went something along the lines of:
Grandma: “It looks… it looks… well…” (she was smiling nervously here)
Me: “What does it look like?” (knowing what she was going to say)
Grandma: “It looks… bad!”

I know she didn’t mean anything bad by it, and I laughed it off (Hi Grandma! I still love you even though you think my food looks nasty.).

IMG_2006

I am well aware that what I eat looks strange. And these Veggie-full Mini Turkey Loaves, well, they’re pushing the limit on the whole ugly food thing. BUT you have to trust me when I say that this recipe happened randomly with a bunch of leftover veggies, and it’s so nutrient packed that what it looks like really doesn’t matter to me.

Plus, all the veggies make it taste great without having to add a lot of seasoning. I recommend topping them with ketchup, but that’s just me 😉

turkeyloaves

Veggie-full Mini Turkey Loaves
Makes about 3 servings

  • 3 celery stalks
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 cup kale
  • 2 cups shredded carrots (or about 2 whole carrots)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c almond meal
  • 1 lb. lean ground turkey
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp parsley
  • 11/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper
  • pepper and salt, to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a food processor, combine celery, kale, spinach, and carrots. Pulse until finely chopped.
  3. Add egg and almond meal. Process until combined.
  4. Transfer mixture to a mixing bowl, along with ground turkey and spices. Mix together.
  5. Spoon turkey mixture into sprayed muffin tin.*
  6. Bake for 35-40 minutes.*
  7. Let cool, removing from muffin tin promptly after they have reached a temperature you can handle touching. Serve immediately, or store for later!

*Notes: I got 9 loaves out of the recipe. It could vary for you. Also, the loaves might crumble for you. The vegetables in the mix make it very moist, and thus the loaves are more likely to fall apart, especially after a few days in the fridge. They are just as good, even if they crumble!

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite way to use leftover veggies? AND What candy are you eating today? I’m having chocolate later. Obvi.

15 comments

  1. That’s too funny because my Grandma has commented on the way my food looks from time to time too. Oh grandmas! I personally think this recipe sounds delicious though 🙂

    No candy today – Halloween unfortunately isn’t celebrated here in Kuwait

  2. I wouldn’t even show my grandma some of the stuff I eat- she wouldn’t even know what to do with herself.. These look like a great breakfast! Iv’e already had a couple pieces of candy and it’s not even 7am.. I am going to have to pace myself..

  3. Haha every time I try to combine kale with meat, it looks so nasty.

    Hmmmmm…I live in an apartment and I don’t think anyone in here will be trick or treating, so I hadn’t even thought of candy. I think Junior Mints are my candy of choice though.

  4. These look AMAZE, I can’t wait to try.

    Leftover veggies usually end up in a soup in my house.

    No candy this year – the Pisone house is handing out mini-pretzels. I really am disappointed I will have no candy to eat tonight though!

  5. Is it weird that those actually look delicious to me? Anything green. Us crazy people are just conditioned that way, I guess. And don’t you worry you’re pretty little head. I’ve haused down more candy than should be legal. I blame the weather. Back on the horse tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

