Almost Average Hummus [WIAW #30]

Yesterday was full of mediocre eats… until dinner! Dinner was fab. But you have to wait a bit to hear what that was.

I’m linking up once again for What I Ate Wednesday, hosted by Jenn! Thanks to her as always, and all of the other bloggers who weirdly take pictures of every meal so faithfully. Here are my Tuesday eats:

Breakfast

I slept in yesterday and didn’t go to the gym to bike in the morning. Hashtag oops, hashtag not sorry. Sleeping felt better, especially because I had a super weird dream in between my alarm and when I naturally woke up. I love that time of sleep for dreams – they’re always the most wacko.

IMG_2070

Anyway, I had a super gross pumpkin pie smoothie for breakfast. First of all, I used both spinach and kale I bought from the farmer’s market, and the smoothie tasted earthy. I poured, and I mean poured, cinnamon in to hide the taste, but it didn’t work. Bad breakfasts are always such a letdown.

Lunch

To carry on the mediocrity of my day, I had almost average homemade hummus with veggies and two hard-boiled eggs on the side.

IMG_2073

It was my first time making hummus, and the flavor wasn’t terrible, but the the texture – ugh, the texture. It was so dry! I knew it wasn’t right as I was making it, but I was sick of adding things so I just gave up. After a bit of research, I learned that you apparently have to take all the little skins off of the chickpeas. Talk about time intensive?!

IMG_2071

Snack

I made sure to bring a snack with me for my afternoon class, so I had a yummy Gala apple from the farmer’s market. I also brought cottage cheese. Except I forgot the spoon. Rookie mistake.

IMG_2074

Snack

When I got home I grabbed a spoon and dug into my cottage cheese.

IMG_2075

Then I had some dates that weren’t mediocre. I love dates! I would date dates if that were legal and/or normal.

No… I’d date peanut butter. Let’s be real here.

IMG_2076

Dinner

Last week I had some amazing soup, and this week, I had delicious soup again! How lucky for me to pick two winning recipes in a row.

IMG_2068

Last night’s star of the show was Alexis’s Vegetable, Chickpea and Quinoa Soup. I knew from the smell alone when I was making it on Sunday that it would be perfectly seasoned. I made sure to take a picture of it early in the day to get the full color, since I would be eating the soup later after hot yoga when the light was gone.

Dessert

I am getting into the habit of trying to control my chocolate intake by giving myself just a little bit each night so that I don’t feel deprived.

IMG_2077

I can go into that at another time, but I’ve been really enjoying my dark chocolate evenings! I followed the chocolate with a mug of Sleepytime tea to end the night.

IMG_2078

Question of the Day:
Have you ever made hummus? Any tips for me?

26 comments

  1. I definitely need to make Alexis’ soup. It’s pinned 🙂 hummus is definitely time consuming and so is roasting chickpeas because you need to take the skins off. I really don’t have much advice because it’s mindless. I usually do it while watching a show.

  2. I’ve actually never made my own hummus because I was always afraid that it wouldn’t come out as well as the ones from the store — I didn’t even know you had to peel the skins! But I’ve read that a lot of people add a little bit of olive oil to make things a little more moist, so you could always try that?

  3. This is the best fool-proof recipe for hummus (from a Lebanese family) with no chickpea peeling necessary!
    1 can chickpeas, drained, reserve 1/4 cup “juice”
    1/4 cup lemon juice
    1/4 cup tahini
    1 tsp cumin
    1 tsp salt
    Add all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth!

  4. Nothing worse than disappointing breakfasts! Love your use of hashtags lol. Also I’ve been having some intense cravings for cottage cheese lately and I’m not entirely sure why because I don’t even like cottage cheese but now that I saw your pic I feel like I definitely have to go buy some…

  5. I’ve made edamame hummus twice, trying to recreate the best edamame hummus I ever had at Breckenridge Brewery. I didn’t take the shells off the first time (no chickpeas, just edamame) – the second I did and it was much better, but still not the same.

    I want to make butternut squash hummus but tahini is a million dollars and now that I know about this chickpea business I might just not make it. Also going to sub sesame oil & PB to see if that works for tahini.

  6. I made my own hummus a few times-the first time I was a kitchen rookie and misread 2-3 cloves of garlic as 2-3 HEADS of garlic. Honestly, still the best freaking hummus I’ve ever had. Just have fun with it!

  7. SO glad you liked the soup!! As for the hummus, I too have read that removing the skins makes it creamier, but I never notice that much of a difference. Maybe it just needed some more tahini or olive oil!

Leave a Reply

