NOLA [Day 1]

Prepare yourselves! This is a long one but full of fun, just like my weekend in Nola was. To give you a bit of context, I went to New Orleans with my friend Jenny, who I met at my internship this summer. We became quick friends, and I am so thankful to have her in my life!

The trip to Nola was for her mom’s 50th birthday celebration, and the weekend was filled with food, drinks, family, friends and fun. It was the first time I met her family, let alone all of their friends, so after the first overwhelming few minutes, I felt so welcome. I cannot thank her parents enough for all of their generosity.

Let’s get this going! Here’s what I did on day one. Please excuse the terrible photo quality. Their photog won’t have the pics available for two more weeks, and I didn’t want to wait any longer!

When I arrived on Friday afternoon, Jenny and her family were having afternoon tea. They looked adorable in their hats, and I knew right away that the weekend was going to be amazing! IMG_1883

Her parents had cute little gift baskets for us! Inside were some fun little local snacks and Café du Monde coffee.IMG_2018

Bourbon Street baby!
IMG_1891 IMG_1896

If you watch American Horror Story like I do, this is the real house of Madame LaLaurie. Terrible woman, beautiful house.
IMG_1904

Our room was on the top floor of the Hotel Monteleone. I loved that I could see the sign right out of our window!
IMG_1888

IMG_1893

Before dinner, we had a cocktail party in her parents’ room and carriage rides accompanied by mint juleps. I am now in love with (less strong) mint juleps.
IMG_1913

This is the worst picture, but what followed was my favorite part of the trip. Known as Second Line Parade, your group walks around the streets of Nola following a jazzy band and dancing. Then everyone takes your picture and you feel like a celeb. That’s her mom and her cute little umbrella.
IMG_1917

Dinner is served at Galatoire’s! We had some interesting courses before this, including fried eggplant that you dipped in powdered sugar and tabasco sauce, which was delicious! I couldn’t believe the sweet and spicy tang. We also had andouille gumbo and… turtle soup. Yes, I had turtle soup. I will say that it wasn’t terrible, but I probably wouldn’t have it again. Dinner was steak, creamed spinach, asparagus, scalloped potatoes, and mushrooms. 
IMG_1923

Dessert, banana bread pudding, was eaten while we watched the cutest picture slideshow Jenny’s parents made for the night.
IMG_1924

Followed by DANCING!! And wine.
IMG_1927
IMG_1929

And maybe some beer, and maybe some bead throwing (don’t fret, I gave myself those beads).
IMG_2020
IMG_2019

Later in the night we went to a bar on Bourbon Street where I met this guy.
IMG_1933

And this hot male stipper stripper, who I only took a picture of because really great at spelling.
IMG_1937

I ended the night looking at the sign, all lit up!
IMG_2015

Part two coming soon 🙂

Question of the Day:
Have you ever been to Nola?

18 comments

Leave a Reply

