Here Comes The Sun[shine Award]

I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22 (<– not yet) this weekend flew by for me! I have a feeling that happened due to Saturday’s Homecoming festivities. I cannot believe it was my final Homecoming celebration as a student here at OU. It blows my mind. I guess I will just have to come back as an alum next year!

IMG_1840

Last week, the gorgeous Bess over at Bess Be Fit tagged me for the Sunshine Award, which you have probably seen floating around the “healthy living” blog world recently. It was so sweet of her! I was excited because I love surveys, as I’ve said before. If you don’t follow Bess already, do it now! She is one of my faves, and I particularly love her tough workouts and affinity for social media.

Rules:
1. Include award logo in a post or on your blog.
2. Link to the person who nominated you.
3. Answer 10 questions about yourself.
4. Nominate 10 bloggers to receive the award and ask them 10 questions.

Bess’s Questions:

1. Chocolate or Vanilla?
Pretty much hands-down chocolate (unless we’re talking icing).

2. What’s your favorite movie?
For a long time my favorite movie was Mean Girls, and to this day it is one that I will watch any time it’s on. But, Silver Linings Playbook recently took the number one spot in my movie heart of hearts. Also, I feel a little more distinguished answering with Sliver Linings Playbook than a teen comedy.

3. Favorite smoothie combo?
The best smoothie I’ve ever made had: almond milk, coconut water, blueberries, a frozen banana, slivered almonds (almond butter works, too), chia seeds, spinach, ice and Designer Whey vanilla protein powder. I think I talk about it here.

IMG_1540

4. What do you think is your best quality?
That’s a toughie… I think my best quality is honestly my sense of humor. I usually try to diffuse situations with a joke, and I revel in laughter. I connect best with people over humor.

5. What about yourself do you want to improve?
I want to improve my tendency to hold problems in my life inside and expect people to come to me with apologies and answers. I’ve gotten better about this, but I think my ability to be more open in relationships will always be a work in progress. (And yet I come on here and talk about things? I dunno.)

6. Best ever Halloween costume you’ve worn?
I’ve been a lot of fun things for Halloween. One year I was Tommy Pickles in a group Rugrats thing, and another year I was a fairly convincing flapper. Also, I can’t leave out the infamous Strawberry Ballerina costume from my youth (still not sure how I came up with that one). The best of all has to be freshman year in college, when I was the pink Power Ranger. We take Halloween very seriously in Athens. This year’s costume might beat that though… TBA 😉

halloween1

7. What’s the most embarrassing moment (that you are willing to share)? Lol 🙂
I embarrass myself on a daily basis, but perhaps one of the most embarrassing moments of my life was when I had my first kiss… on stage… practicing for my high school musical. Uhhhh yup, real life. Late bloomer. There, now everyone knows.

8. Favorite brand of running shoes?
I’ve really only worn one pair other than Asics that hated my feet, so I’m going to run with (hehe) Mizuno! They’ve treated me well and are the first brand I will look to for my next pair.

IMG_0117

9. Do you like to sleep in on the weekends or wake up early?
Wake up early! No later than 8 usually, unless I’ve missed out on some sleep or I am sick. People think I’m really weird for that reason. They are right.

10. What was the last book you read, and would you recommend it?
I will tell you what I am currently reading, because I highly recommend the series. It’s called Deeply Odd, from the Odd Thomas series by Dean Koontz. It’s a supernatural book because the main character interacts with ghosts, but there is a sarcastic humor in the writing that I love. He also speaks some major truths about life. It’s way more than just a syfy book about ghosts.

IMG_1712

And that’s a wrap! Pretty marvelous questions, if you ask me (thanks, Katie, for the link-up!).

I’m not tagging anyone today for the Sunshine Award because I feel like I have literally seen this on every blog I read, and if it’s not posted on one yet, I would be willing to bet money that someone out there has nominated them already (so see below!).

Question of the Day:
Please answer one or more of Bess’s questions!
I would love to hear what you have to say. 🙂

27 comments

  1. I’m always such a huge fan of these posts. It’s so fun getting to know one another a bit more. One year for halloween my best friend @ the time & I were Siamese twins. It was fun until we dripped over a garden hose, couldn’t get up & everyone stole most of our candy =( Ha Ha Ha!

  2. Great post! I LOVE Mean Girls too – my sister and I make ‘Regina George’ references almost daily!! (And I’m 30…not 14…I swear!) 😉
    Since #iHeartHalloween I’ll answer that question…last year my husband and I were Wilma & Fred Flintstone which was really cute! Maybe wasn’t my favorite favorite of all time but it was definitely a fun one. I’ll try to remember to post a pic on either twitter or my blog!
    -Sammy @ http://www.peaceandloveandicecream.com

      1. My phone sucks. But it’s nice to be able to enjoy some of these bigger events of college! Like you, I struggle with being open on relationships yet I have no probably telling the world my life story on my blog. I guess it is because we feel more vulnerable saying it to someone we care about. Either way, we’re always a work in progress and hopefully blogging makes those real life relationships easier 🙂

  3. This is cute – I like the concept! And who can argue with sunshine? Really, I have a harder and harder time understanding where all this criticism of HLB comes from. The overwhelming majority of people love and care for their fellow bloggers, and don’t seek to encourage negative thoughts and behaviors. I’m so glad someone created this idea!

    It’s also fun to find out little-know facts about some of the people I read about on a daily basis. I always like sharing those kinds of things.

    To answer a question, the last book I read was The Bright Forever by Lee Martin. It was hauntingly good, I almost didn’t want to finish it, and it definitely gave me nightmares (in a good way, if that’s possbile?). But I would absolutely recommend it!

Leave a Reply

