Make Your Own Cereal [WIAW #27]

Yesterday when I was watching GMA during breakfast they were talking about the Geico Hump Day commercial and how kids in schools are now walking around yelling “Hump Day!”

I just find that hilarious.

And on this HUMP DAYYEEEEE I’m sending love and clicks to Jenn and all the other bloggers who participate in the link up! Here’s to another Wednesday of Tuesday eats.

Breakfast

IMG_1798

I was really in the mood for a cold breakfast today, and this “cereal” hit the spot for me. I mixed together:

  • 1/2 c oats
  • 2 tsp chia seeds
  • 2 Tbsp coconut flakes
  • 1/4 c slivered almonds
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 sliced banana
  • handful of blueberries

I topped it off with almond milk. I love making cereal this way. I can control my ingredients, and I never get sick of it because I can always switch it up.

Snack

IMG_1799

Apple plus cinnamon plus PB.

Drank

IMG_1800

Casual mid-morning kombucha to aid the ol’ digestive system because I’m on anti-biotics.

Lunch

wiaw27L

REAL LUNCH. Class was cancelled this afternoon so I made some (a lot) of sweet potato fries and eggs with spinach.

Snack

wiaw27S

Gotta fuel up before hot yoga! Those grapes were perfectly sweet. Cottage cheese for protein!

“Dinner”

wiaw27d

It was one of those “I got home really late aka 9 pm and I needed food but wasn’t hungry” kind of things. Spaghetti squash for veggie power, dates because I needed sweet, PB for some protein, tea for hydration and coconut water because why not?

It was a busy day but I made it through. I sweated my butt off at hot yoga but I needed it! Today I am ending the day with a really long work shift, but hopefully I can force myself to get some work done ahead of time.

Hope your day is fantastic!

Question of the Day:
Do you prefer to make your own cereal or buy it packaged? Lately I favor making my own.

25 comments

    1. Oh man I was totally a honey bunches addict for a few years. That stuff is so tasty! I love boxed cereal for sure, but I’ve come to really loving making my own too. Give me a box of Barbara’s PB Puffins and it’s all over.

  1. Apple, cinnamon & almond butter is my FAVE! Bananas & pb come in as a close second, though. How is raw oatmeal? I’ve never tried. Extra chewy I’d imagine? Obvi it’s good though I see so many people eating it!

    1. Personally I LOVE raw oats. I think they’re so good. It is def a bit chewier but I think that it works cause you get a similar bite to cereal. It’s different than overnight oats, though, if you make it like I did above. 🙂 Less creamy and soft.

  2. I love making “cereal” like that also, especially when I am craving a colder breakfast! I also love the Reed’s flavor (it is even more reminiscent of wine than real kombucha), and yay for a real lunch that is the best when class is unexpectedly cancelled.

Leave a Reply

