5K Monday [MIMM #11]

Hello and happy Monday to you! I hope your weekend fun and relaxing, as weekends should be! I know my weekend was marvelous. I didn’t want it to end.

If you’ve been following me for the past few months, you know that I was supposed to run my second half-marathon on Saturday morning for the Run Like A Girl Columbus race.

5kmonday

Unfortunately, due to a knee injury, I had to cut back on training and change my distance to a 5K because my knee just wouldn’t allow me to go any further, and I didn’t want to risk a worse injury.

Even though I didn’t run the race I was expecting, I still had a great time.

IMG_1748

I ran the race with confidence that I would make it through pain-free and strong, and I almost did. I didn’t want to start the race anticipating pain because I was afraid it would become mental rather than an actual pain. I felt no irritation until the end of mile two, which was disheartening but I still finished the race proud of myself!

IMG_1749

My official time was 26:57, which isn’t a PR for me (my PR is 25:40 in a 5K I ran during my internship… not sure if I ever mentioned that?) but still made me happy, all things considered. I placed 18th out of 708 runners/walkers and 4th in my age group of 142 runners/walkers.

I was a little annoyed at the start because it was very congested, and I may have beat my PR had it not been for all the dodging I had to do. The course was pretty easy and mostly flat until the last three-fourths of a mile, which was a steady incline. I know that one complaint my friends who ran the half-marathon was that the course included a lot of unexpected hills. Still, my friends are rock stars and finished with amazing times! I’m so proud of Kellie, who finished 14th out of the halfie runners, as well as my race buddy Cassie, who got her second best half-marathon time! <–she should be so proud!

IMG_1753

We got our wine. And we met another blogger at the wine table, Jen from Advocarerunner! She was so sweet and took a picture of Cassie and me and we returned her the favor!

IMG_1757

Now, it’s time for me to focus on healing my knee. I hope to see a physical therapist or orthopedic doctor asap. For the time being, I am going to take it easy on the running and focus on strength training.

Here’s what my workouts this week will hopefully look like:

Sunday: Rest
Monday: Weights
Tuesday: Bike + hot yoga
Wednesday: Weights
Thursday: Bike + Bootcamp
Friday: Weights
Saturday: Cardio (not sure what yet)

I’ll be back tomorrow with more about my weekend travels. Have a good day!

Question of the Day:
Tell me why your weekend was marvelous!

PS Go show Katie and all the other marvelous bloggers some love for Marvelous Monday!

22 comments

  1. I think it’s wonderful that you listened to your head to drop down to the 5k instead of risking the chance of injuring your knee worse. I’m sure it wasn’t an easy decision, but with a bit more rest you should be good to go. ❤

  2. I’m really glad you chose the 5k instead. Like I said, that was the hardest decision I made this summer about my injury and I think your body will thank you. There are so many races out there and at least you had a great time doing it! I’m also loving that I don’t see running on your plan for the week. It’s a huge source of inspiration for me (after I make it through the half next weekend- hopefully…)

  3. Congrats Ang!! You rocked it.. wow 4th in your age group?! Way to go! And seriously so amazing to listen to your body. I ma guilty of not doing this and am really trying to get better. So happy that you stayed positive and enjoyed a great race

  4. Good choice with the 5k! Just think if you had started feeling pain at the end of mile 2 and still had to run the rest of the 10k. Good time as well with it being so jammed pack at the beginning 🙂

Leave a Reply

