I Will Get My Wine [Half-Marathon Monday + MIMM #10]

Hey guys! I feel both really hyper and really tired at the same time. I’ve officially been awake for two hours, and I have no idea why. Should be a great day, huh?

Strange sleeping patterns aside, I had a super weekend and I hope you did, too. My family came to visit me, and they brought my grandparents along (dad’s side!). I was so happy to have them finally see my campus since I won’t be living here much longer.

We ate at my favorite local restaurant on Saturday night and then traveled to a nearby lodge to stay the night. After brunch in the morning (big ass pancakes for me), we came back to campus and I showed them around!

IMG_1711

I had a marvelous time with them! And on this Marvelous Monday, I want to thank Katie for allowing us to link up and reflect on the awesome people we can spend our time with and the fun activities we can enjoy.

So changing directions here, I have some interesting news to share in regards to my upcoming half-marathon. I have been seriously taking it easy with the runs. My knee was feeling good the past two weeks and I was really hopeful.

On Saturday, I went for a run. My knee wasn’t feeling that great on Friday afternoon, and it sort of came out of nowhere because I thought I was doing everything right and was on the mend.

halfmarathonmonday

I got about a mile into the run and had to stop. I felt the same tinges of pain I felt the first time my knee started hurting but I didn’t push the pain for nearly as long as that time (i.e. I stopped as soon as it started).

With pain resurfacing, I have decided there’s pretty much no chance of me successfully finishing a half marathon and staving off a worse injury. Therefore, I am planning on contacting the race organizers and asking them to switch my registration to the 5K option. I believe that this distance is more doable and I won’t feel as terrible wasting the money I paid for the race. That way, if I do have to walk, it won’t be as long a distance, and I’ll still get my bottle of wine!

Here’s what my workouts are looking like for the week:

Sunday: Rest
Monday: Bike
Tuesday: Bike + Hot yoga
Wednesday: Weights
Thursday:  Bike
Friday: Weights
Saturday: Run Like A Girl Half-Marathon 5K

On the bright side of everything, I get to see Cassie this weekend as well as my current band obsession, The Neighbourhood. 🙂

Question of the Day:
Have you ever had to change your race distance or drop out of a race?

18 comments

  1. Hang in there lady! I feel your pain (literally) but feel confident in your decision. I pushed myself a little too far in Half training and have been dealing with a knee/leg injury for the last 10 months…no fun. Smart of you to stop before things go worse! Sounds like you’ve still be able to keep active and that’s what’s most important 🙂 Happy Monday!

  2. In high school I had a lot of knee issues/shin splints/whatever. I had to drop out of a few races. I also had a real fun “hit the wall” moment in high school and basically passed out (luckily right in front of my parents). It’s not forever, it’s just for right now. xo see you FRIDAY.

  3. I think this is a really smart decision on your part. I’ve dropped out of races before. I’d rather that than a DNF personally. Doing the 5k is really the best of both worlds. It takes a lot to decide to do that and I know it wasn’t an easy decision! As for your grandparents, how cute!! I would love it if mine came to visit my school. And you just can’t go wrong with giant pancakes. You can’t.

  4. My sleeping patterns are SO thrown off as well! I feel like I need one full day of sleep, but whenever I try to sleep in I always wake up at 9:30 MAX. Sad in our old age that’s considered “sleeping in.” What happened to waking up at 12 on the weekends? RIP high school glory days 😥

Leave a Reply

