Semisweet Chocolate Avocado Mousse

You know how sometimes when you give foods a second chance you end up liking them? I tried that yesterday with celery and PB. A stringy stalk of celery at that (remember now, I have a weird aversion to strings on food).

IMG_1675

Nope. Still gross. I actually had to throw the last piece away because I could not handle the taste and texture. That’s not the first time I’ve given foods a second chance though. Actually, I recently had a really good experience with a second chance recipe.

So the other day there was this half an avocado and a really old banana chilling in my kitchen.

That sounds like the start of a bad joke, huh?

Whatever. So there was half an avocado and a really old banana chilling in my kitchen, and since brown bananas are not my thing and avos don’t last long, I had to do something about it.

IMG_1640

Enter semisweet avocado mouse. Now, I know that this has been done before, but I really wanted to give it a go. I made this once before and it was nast. I’m so glad I gave this another chance because it turned out really well. I promise this one is a keeper!

You only need a few ingredients, too, which you probably already have around the house.

IMG_1648

Semisweet Chocolate Avocado Mousse

  • 1/2 ripe avocado
  • 1 banana (on the verge of death)
  • 2 Tbsp + 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 1/2 packet stevia (optional, but necessary for me)

IMG_1641

  1. Blend avo, banana and cocoa powder in food processor.
  2. Scrape down the sides with a spatula.
  3. Add in honey and stevia packet (I did use the stevia).
  4. Continue to blend until completely smooth!

avo2

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite way to use avocado?

16 comments

  1. oh i love that mousse idea!! sounds delicious! and im with you on the celery thing- i only like it if its diced up really small in tuna salad or something like that, otherwise, gross 🙂

Leave a Reply

