Just Plain Happy [Half-Marathon Monday]

I feel like I have so much to update you on after this weekend! It was a good one to say the least.

Friday night was my friend Lauren’s 22nd birthday, so we went out with our friends, her parents and her boyfriend. It was a blast!

1238210_10153251778120174_716804663_n

On Sunday afternoon, we had a bunch of friends over for brunch. We had so much food but also there were four boys in attendance, so needless to say all of the food was gone by the end.

After we brunched, Kellie, her bf and I went to the Pawpaw Festival in Albany, OH (like 10 min away from Athens). Pawpaws are a tree fruit that apparently grows on trees in Midwestern states. Until I came to Ohio, I’d never heard of a pawpaw.

IMG_1604

I tried a plain pawpaw since I’d never had one before. The only way I can describe it is a mix between a mango and banana but with a really smooth, almost buttery texture.

IMG_1603

Then I had some pawpaw ice cream from Snowville Creamery. It was fantastic, and I’m pretty sure it had fat percentage of 100. It was sweet but not too sweet and perfectly creamy. No spoons allowed!

IMG_1606

And then Kellie held a snake.

IMG_1601

But let me back up a bit. Something else happened on Sunday morning…

halfmarathonmonday

I went for a run! My first run in what feels like 10 years. I told myself I would go with no expectations and run until I felt like my knee needed a break. I got to just over 3 miles with only a little discomfort eventually, which is why I stopped.

running

The good news is it hasn’t hurt since that run, which I see as a positive sign. I’m going to take it slow and look at my training from here on out the same way I did with today’s run: no high expectations.

After my run, I did a plank. I’ve been trying harder to do a plank a day. Core strength = running strength!

Here’s what my workouts this week will probably look like:
Sunday: Runday! 3 mile run
Monday: Weights
Tuesday: Hot yoga
Wednesday: 3-4 mile run
Thursday: Biking or rest
Friday: Run or weights or rest
Saturday: Run or weights (depending on Friday)

This weekend made me just plain happy. 🙂 Here’s to a good Monday!

Question of the Day:
Have you ever heard of a pawpaw? What’s one exotic fruit you’ve tried?

14 comments

  1. I’m glad you had such an awesome weekend! And yay for running mostly pain free! I think you have a great outlook on it and your body will thank you for easing back in. Hopefully Monday is as marvelous as your weekend was!

Leave a Reply

