#PowerbowlChallenge Recap 2

I’m writing this post to you this morning before I head to the farmer’s market. I’m pretty excited because the weather is cool here now (despite the fact it’s going to be in the 80s starting Tuesday).

In other news, I have been a reading machine lately (I surpassed my goal on my summer bucket list as far as books go!) and yesterday I finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I just had to share that because I really loved it. Now I want to see the movie because it was actually filmed in a HS a few of my Pgh friends went to!

So far I’ve updated you twice about the super fun challenge that Kasey, who blogs over at Powercakes, was hosting on Challenge Loop called the #PowerbowlChallenge. If you don’t remember, a POWERBOWL is a bowl of yummy food that’s good for you all mixed up and served similarly to a salad.

The premise of the challenge is to eat one (or more, really!) powerbowl per day. Today is Day 14 of the challenge. I only missed one day of the challenge because I’d gone out to eat and had weird timing with my food so I wasn’t hungry enough for a bowl.

Still, I managed to get one in every other day! Check out days 7 through 13 🙂 And don’t forget to follow me on Instagram to keep up with my challenge eats, too!

Day 7
Weird Powerbowl: The only way I can describe this one was weird. I had to use some leftovers, so I mixed chicken, broccoli, sauerkraut and chickpeas together, added some spicy season and put ketchup on top later. It wasn’t very good. Don’t try this at home.

IMG_1557

Day 9
Acorn Bowl: roasted acorn squash, cottage cheese, strawberries, honey-cinnamon roasted chickpeas. This was a good one! I was skeptical but it was sweet and had lots of different textures.

IMG_1560

Day 10
Super Oats Bowl: Love Grown Foods Super Oats, an egg white, cinnamon, and a banana. Kept it simple but sometimes simple is best!

IMG_1566

Day 4
Bloobie Smoothie round 2: I made this exactly like last week’s! It was so good I had to create it again.

IMG_1577

Day 5
Power Stirfry: red lentils, chicken, garlic, red onion, broccoli, yellow pepper and mushrooms topped with a sriracha heart! I really enjoyed this meal. It was simple as well, but when I cook for myself I can do something like ad sriracha and I’m satisfied.

IMG_1585

Day 13
Zeggs!: mashed banana, whole grated zucchini, eggs, egg whites and cinnamon cooked like scrambled eggs and toped with Earth Balance coconut PB and chia seeds. I saw Zeggs on Amy’s blog, and new I had to try this version of sweet scrambled eggs. They were a winner! An entire zucchini before 10 am? I’ll take it!

IMG_1592

So I’m still going strong! Hopefully I can kick my creativity up a notch for this week. Have a great rest of your weekend!

Question of the Day:
What was your favorite thing you ate this week?

5 comments

  1. My favorite thing I ate this week was a super-indulgent angel food cake grilled cream cheese sandwich at Monterrey Bay, followed by ice cream with caramel sauce and rainbow sprinkles I got from the dessert cart at the Pirates game. Thank god I run, I would be huge if not.

Leave a Reply

