#PowerbowlChallenge Recap 1

It’s Harry Potter weekend which means instead of writing the short fiction story I have on my schedule I’m probably parked on the couch wishing I were a wizard and eating chocolate frogs.

So last Saturday I dropped in to tell you that Kasey, who blogs over at Powercakes, was hosting a super fun challenge on Challenge Loop called the #PowerbowlChallenge. She was even sweet enough to feature one of my bowls on her blog! If you don’t remember, a POWERBOWL is a bowl of yummy food that’s good for you all mixed up and served similarly to a salad.

The premise of the challenge is to eat one (or more, really!) powerbowl per day. Today is Day 7 of the challenge, and I can say I’ve successfully eaten a powerbowl six days in a row. Day 7’s will come a little bit later today 🙂

Here are all the yummy bowls I’ve eaten so far with a brief explanation! Follow my on Instagram to cheer me on as well, too.

Day 1
“Pasta” Powerbowl: spaghetti squash, mushrooms, mushrooms, red pepper, shredded carrot, red onion, garlic, chicken, all sautéed in EVOO and topped with marinara and red pepper flakes. It was spicy and amazing!

IMG_1513

Day 2
Green Overnight Oats: spinach, Greek yogurt and almond milk blended and made into overnight oats with chia seeds and topped with bananas, strawberries, bananas, slivered almonds and coconut flakes. It was like making overnight oats with a green smoothie!

IMG_1517

Day 3
The Boring Salad: spring mix, spinach, arugula, cabbage, broccoli, beets, carrots, cukes, and tomatoes with (too much) balsamic dressing. You can only ask for so much at the café salad bar. I can’t hold it to the standards of my internship’s café… le sigh.

IMG_1527

Day 4
Rad Rainbow Raw Pad Thai: recipe followed exactly from Oh She Glows, minus the hemp seeds! This was reallllly good. I loved the idea of making Pad Thai from just veggies.

IMG_1536

Day 5
Bloobie Smoothie: blueberries, banana, spinach, almond milk, coconut water, chia seeds, almonds, and Designer Whey Sustained Energy Vanilla Bean protein powder, topped off with slivered almonds. This was undoubtedly the best smoothie I’ve ever made.

IMG_1540

Day 6
Butternut Breakfast Scramble: mashed banana and roasted butternut squash, eggs and egg whites scrambled and topped with chia seeds and PB. This was a newer take on a sweet breakfast scramble, and I was a big fan. It will definitely be a repeat breakfast since squash is now in season!

IMG_1546

So far I am loving this challenge. It’s feeding my body and my eyes, that’s for sure!
Have a great Saturday!

Question of the Day:
Do you have a favorite random bowl meal? Please share, I need ideas!

9 comments

Leave a Reply

