What Summer 2013 Taught Me

Did you ever have a summer that changed your outlook on life? A summer that you really, truly want to call ‘the best summer ever?’ Typically, my summers are great. I swim, I hang out with friends, I relax and I make a little bit of money. I’ve always heard people say that their summer was the ‘best ever,’ yet I’ve been skeptical to say that of my own summer experiences.

Until this year.

I’ve never been through a period in my life that has so thoroughly guided me to where I want to be and what I want to do with my life than I have in the past four months. May through August was an extreme period of growth and learning. It was busy, hectic and often work driven, but ultimately I think it was necessary and FUN.

This summer:

I learned that… I don’t want to be a ‘journalist’ in the firm sense of the word. My internship was in social media, and I think that it is where my true passion lies. It incorporates the human connection that I love about journalism (even if it is behind a computer) with quippy writing. And for the record, I do consider blogging a form of social media.

I learned that... you get out of life what you put in. In every aspect, from friendships, to jobs, to fitness – everything. Plain and simple.

I learned that… my family and Pittsburgh are incredibly important to me and I want to try my hardest to stay relatively close to my hometown for the first few years out of college.

IMG_1247

I learned that… you don’t always get sunny weather at the beach. Likewise, life isn’t always sunny and you can’t always get what you want. Even if it looks like you’re going to, things can change. But that doesn’t mean that disappointments can’t turn into successes later, either.

IMG_1452

I learned that… I like the color pink (random, but actually quite the revelation for my wardrobe).

IMG_1393

I learned that… I need to prioritize making a budget and get my spending under control, for my mind’s and future’s sake.

I learned that… I connect with people best through humor. If you can make me laugh like a hyena, we’ll probably be best friends. Laughter is the ultimate cure for most anything. And it is the glue that holds my friendships together.

IMG_1277

I learned that… time is moving forward. I am growing up, and so is everyone around me. And I am okay with that.

Question of the Day:
What did you learn about yourself this summer? (serious or funny, share!)

13 comments

  1. This post. You said it all. I’ve never been totally enamored by summer either until this year. I feel like I changed a lot, grew up, and discovered what I love. Like you, I settled more firmly on a career path, made lots of friends through laughter, put the effort in for friendships and relationships, realized I want to be close to my family after graduation more than ever, and that the beach isn’t always sunny (duh, I work at a beach!). Basically this summer was life changing and it’s amazing. I loved it and I miss it every day. I’m glad you had such an amazing summer too- we deserved it- it’s one of our last!

  2. I love this. I learned many things this summer too and we are just going to continue to learn. I learned that I love to blog and that I miss school!

  3. I love this! I also had such a great experience this summer. I totally agree that what you put into life, you get out of it. So many people sit around and wait for things to happen instead of MAKING them happen. You go girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

