The Knee [Half-Marathon Monday]

Before I say anything else today… Hello September and Happy Labor Day! Just taking a moment to thank people like my dad who work their asses off day in and day out. I wouldn’t have the comfortable life I have without your hard work, Dad! I wish I could walk with you in the Pittsburgh Labor Day Parade, but go strut your stuff without me for one more year. ๐Ÿ™‚

I don’t know how it happened but September is already here. I feel like it was just yesterday (but really though) that I was obsessing over all things fall. I know that bloggers have been jumping on the fall train for about two weeks now and I tried to refrain but… no more! My mom claims that September is supposed to be for apples only but that’s not how I roll. When I jump into fall, I go all in. I bought tons of squash at the farmer’s market last weekend and I. Am. Ready.

And on the topic of feeling ready for things…

halfmarathonmonday

On Friday, I was feeling really positive about my halfie training. I was happy with how my shorter runs went this week and I felt strong. And then…

IMG_1503

What you see there is an injured knee. As I set out for my long run on Saturday, I felt pretty good despite the heat (I had to start out later than I wanted because it was thunder storming when I woke up at 7). Around mile 2.5, my knee really started to bug me. At first I felt like a ball was rubbing on the outside of my right knee, but I figured it was a weird cramp so I wiggled it out and kept going.

It didn’t get better. In fact, it got worse. I made it to mile 4 and I absolutely had to stop. I was afraid to push it and injure myself further before I could really assess what was happening. Unfortunately, I had to walk all the way home. I took a short cut that got me home in two miles.

As soon as I got home, I showered and started icing. Eventually I was sick of sitting alone and in a pretty down mood because of my knee, so I asked Kaitlyn to meet me for some cheer-up fro yo. She and I have lots of catching up to do, even after the fro yo date!

IMG_1497

On the way home, the sensation I was feeling became clear โ€“ it hurt to bend my leg. As I walked, it felt like every few feet my knee would seize up. I spent the rest of the night on my couch, icing away.

Thankfully when I woke up Sunday, the pain wasn’t nearly as bad. I continued to ice and then moved to some heat compression eventually. I have a run scheduled for today with Kaitlyn, so we’ll see if that happens and/or how it goes. I may get a knee brace and wear it just in case.

Here’s the thing: I can’t pinpoint for sure why this happened. I don’t think it’s from overuse, I really don’t. I didn’t fall, I didn’t feel a twist in my knee. I was going over and over the past week in my head trying to figure it out, and then on Sunday morning a possible culprit hit me. I took a yoga class on Thursday and I remembered one specific move (kneeling twist lunge with quad stretch) that felt a little uncomfortable. I didn’t hold it long but is that enough to do some damage? Maybe.

As for this week, here is what I plan on doing as long as my knee cooperates:
Sunday: Rest (stupid knee.)
Monday: 4 mile run
Tuesday: Hot yoga
Wednesday: 4 mile interval run
Thursday: Bootcamp
Friday: Weights or 6 mile run
Saturday: 6 mile run or weights

Enjoy this Labor Day off!

Question of the Day:
What injuries have you sustained during training?
How are you celebrating Labor Day?

15 comments

  1. Injuries suck. I’m obviously coming back very slowly from my knee/calf troubles and it’s hard. I think the fact that you’re listening to what your body is telling you is the most important part and you’ll be happy you did later. The more time you give yourself now, the better, and you’ll be rested and ready come race day ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh no I’m so sorry to hear about your knee. I know how annoying it is to rest but it’s definitely necessary. Glad it is feeling better! Enjoy your holiday Monday

  3. AHHH! I’m sorry but I can’t get past it and I have to bring it up right away: You eat the BALLS at the froyo place?! Ben and I were getting froyo on Friday and he turned to me and said “does anyone ever eat those things?!” I can now say… uhm, yes! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hilarious.

    Now on to the injury… ALWAYS listen to your body. If you are not feeling well (especially when it’s something that is very touchy like a knee injury) you need to take it seriously. Your chances of a stronger recovery increase immensely if you allow proper time to heal.

    xo

Leave a Reply

