Two Kinds of Hikes

When I was on vacation, I was talking to Brittany one day about outdoor activities. I told her that something I really wanted to do was go camping.

She laughed in my face.

Apparently I don’t strike her as the type who could survive a camping trip, but I quickly countered her arguments and tried to convince her to go with me sometime – which brings me to my first type of hiking. Luckily, it wasn’t as hard to convince her that I would be able to survive a hike. Hiking is something that definitely gets put on the back burner for me because I don’t live super close to any trails at home but I want to try to hike regularly more senior year. There’s a gorgeous park nearby. I just need a hiking buddy!

I took advantage of the great weather yesterday and went for a hike about 45 minutes away from home with my friend Ian. I will consider this a warm-up for when Brittany tests my outdoor skillz this year. In all, we walked about 4.6 miles and had a really fun time.

IMG_1463

Also, aren’t these two flowers cute? Only ones I saw that day. It’s like they’re bffs.

IMG_1464

We refueled afterward by making some stir-fry with chicken, broccoli, red peppers, onion and mushrooms on a bed of rice noodles. We used TJ’s stir-fry sauce and I thought it had a great gingery tang! Ian is kind of inept in the kitchen so it’s fun to watch him try to cook.

IMG_1468

The second type of hike I’m talking about is my trip back to school. Yes, it is time for me to officially say my summer is over and I am headed back to Athens today.

20130823-090928.jpg

But not without pancakes first! Courtesy of newly licensed driver Adam. I’m a proud big sis. He passed his test on Tuesday, first try! But uhh… that also makes a nervous big sis. I’ll try to cope 🙂

 

Question of the Day:
Do you think I could handle a camping trip? Say yes or don’t comment. Just kidding.

 

4 comments

  1. I keep telling my boyfriend that I think it would be so much fun to go on a camping trip! Although I think I would probably be a bad camper, like starting a fire or setting up a tent, I still think it would be a lot of fun 🙂

  2. There are SO many types of camping. It’s not bad for a day or two. There is even glamping 😉 Glamorous camping which I’m dying to see my dad try, although it’s a fat chance it ever will.

    Enjoy the rest of your summer 🙂 I nominated you for the Liebster Award! Have a fab weekend!

Leave a Reply

