What I Ate On Vacation [WIAW #20]

Whew, it feels good to be back. Don’t get me wrong, I had a nice vacation… but it rained/was cloudy for the last four days of our trip. I only had a solid two sunny days on the beach! Lame in my opinion.

I’m not sure I mentioned it before, but we traveled to Emerald Isle, NC. We’d never been there before (but I am partial to Myrtle Beach for no apparent reason other than I’m stubborn). It was a pretty beach, but I don’t think I would go back. The weather may have skewed my opinion of the place.

IMG_1409

Today I’ll share a little about what I ate on the trip. We ate in a lot because both my brother and I brought friends – restaurants are expensive! We did go out a few times, though.

All in all, I’d say it was one of the healthiest trips I’ve had on a day to day basis. I made sure to eat well for most meals that weren’t at a restaurant, for my own sanity and digestive system if nothing else.

Enough rambling, though! Here are some of my vacation eats starting with the most boring: 

IMG_1436

Hummus + veg was a favorite snack or light lunch.

IMG_1425

Always gotta have cinnamon sweet potatoes.

IMG_1426

One of my latest favorite lunches – tuna mixed with avocado, Mrs. Dash table seasoning, and red onion.

IMG_1360

Corona light was the vacation beer of choice.

IMG_1372

There was a really yummy froyo chain about five minutes away called the Fuzzy Peach. I got almond and dark chocolate froyo topped with chocolate chips, rainbow sprinkles, strawbs, and those popping bead things. Bobas I think?

IMG_1389

Black beans, rice and shrimp at The Dockhouse Restaurant in historic Beaufort, NC (Blackbeard the pirate roamed these parts, nbd.).

IMG_1429

Not so great margs a decent Mexican restaurant.

AND now for the main event, one of the best meals I’ve ever had in my life. Britt and I checked out a place that had good reviews on Yelp called Circa 81, and it did not disappoint. They specialized in tapas, so we shared four varieties. Watermelon mojito to start the meal, obvi.

IMG_1377

IMG_1383

circa 81

The tapas we ordered were (l-r, top-bottom): Potatoes Brava, Sweet Potato Quesadilla, Pot Stickers, and Seared Sesame Tuna.

The quesadilla was very sweet, filled with cream cheese and topped with a pepper jelly. We saved that for dessert! It was my favorite tapas. Each dish was so flavorful, and the tuna was cooked perfectly. I had no complaints about my experience there and highly recommend it if you travel to Emerald Isle or Atlantic Beach!

We ate at a few other restaurants as well, but none of them knocked it out of the park like Circa 81. I’m still drooling over that meal! Le sigh.

 

Thanks to Jenn for hosting, as always.

Question of the Day:
What’s the best meal you’ve ever had at a restaurant?

11 comments

Leave a Reply

