Plan to PR [Half-Marathon Monday]

My second half-marathon training has officially started! Woo-hoo!

halfmarathonmonday

The plan: PR. My first half ended in 1:57, and I aim to beat that time, if only by a few minutes, in my October race.

Cassie, the work friend running with me, has completed multiple halves, her last one being the Pittsburgh Half-Marathon this past May. She’s such a rockstar! Her PR is coincidentally 1:57 as well, which pumps me up because that means we should be able to stay relatively close to one another during the race.

IMG_1245

Cassie!

But I’m getting ahead of myself… How am I training for this race? Close to my last plan, actually. I followed a plan I found in Women’s Health, and I really enjoyed how it was structured.

This time around, however, I am making long runs a big priority. During my last training, long runs fell to the wayside in the weeks leading up to the race, and I felt unprepared.

Additionally, I want to focus on getting a little faster (to PR). I want to kick my interval runs up a notch by sprinting hard.

I am also adding more yoga and strength into my routine. Since I’ve recently fallen in love with practicing yoga, I’m going to use it for both easy recovery and strength building. I hope to be able to lift weights 1-2 times per week as well.

This evening, I will start out my training on a strong note with a time trial (TT) run to track my progress. TTs will involve running a warm-up mile followed by a timed two miles. They come every few weeks, with the point being to improve my time each run.

If you’re a runner god, that was probably painful for you to read because it is so very basic. I’m not claiming to know all about running because I am not an ultra-marathoner running encyclopedia – I just want to use this space to talk about my personal experiences with race training.

Make this Monday a good one!

Question of the Day:
Do you like to use yoga as more of a stress reliever, recovery activity, or hardcore workout? I like it as all three 🙂

4 comments

  1. Phone fail. I think your training plan is perfect! Personally I like to keep it simple and if it worked before, why change it except to make little tweaks? I think the crazy intense plans are just too much sometimes. Yoga will be perfect to help keep you injury free!

Leave a Reply

