Second Chance [WIAW #18]

Good morning and Happy What I Ate Wednesday!



I hope your week is going well! Mine is flying by already. Each day is passing fast and my to-do list is building. I’m trying to handle it all. Today will be no different, as I have to go to work after work.

But, enough about me – let’s chat food! Thanks to the Queen of WIAW, Jenn, and her royal subjects for linking up each and every week. Here are yesterday’s eats:

Breakfast:
I went with my current favorite breakfast option yesterday: spinach and eggs followed by a banana with PB and chia seeds. I had two cups of coffee with coconut milk as well. I’m a two cup kinda gal. P.S. Does anyone else think chia seeds look like little bugs?

IMG_1200 IMG_1202

Lunch:
Look! I remembered to take a picture. This salad hit the spot yesterday. The cafe at work has an amazing salad bar, so I am taking full advantage while I can. My typical salad has been greens, spinach, tomatoes, carrots, cukes, mushrooms, artichokes, beets, red onion, zucchini, and chicken. I topped the salad with a delicious honey dijon dressing.

IMG_1204

Snack:
I am officially obsessed with Chobani’s new coconut flavor. It was pure coconut heaven for the coconut lover in me. Definitely try this one out, guys. It was creamy, coconutty, and had tiny pieces of coconut slivers mixed throughout. I also had a big bag of cherries on the side!

IMG_1205

Workout:
Following my internship, I went to hot yoga with one of my coworkers. I have been loving twice weekly practices. I can actually feel a difference in my body. I followed my practice with some coconut water. I can find any excuse to drink that stuff!

Dinner:
I had a late dinner last night while watching PLL… and this is where a weird craving comes in. For some unknown reason, I spotted sauerkraut at the grocery store the other day and absolutely had to have it. The thing is, I never really had a taste for sauerkraut. I decided to go with it for a second chance, and it was great! I cooked yesterday’s with a little pepper ate it alongside chicken and zucchini. Ketchup cut into the sour flavor of the kraut, and I really enjoyed the balance.

IMG_1206

There you have it! Here’s to another WIAW and a good end to the week 🙂

Questions of the Day:
Do you like sauerkraut?
What foods have you given a second chance lately?

10 comments

  1. I actually really like sauerkraut. I like to eat it with spicy chicken sausage hot dogs. I have heard that its suppose to be really good for your stomach as well. I found the new flavors at the store the other day. I had the apricot for breakfast today, it was amazing! I can’t wait to try the coconut and lime later this week.

  2. Your salad looks delicious! I really need to start remembering to add artichokes to my salads!

    I used to HATE sauerkraut, but since I started eating healthy my taste buds have really changed. I now LOVE it, especially on tempeh reuben sandwiches and on pizza!

Leave a Reply

