A Lil’ Sweat Never Hurt Nobody

Forgive the grammar in my post title. Sometimes I like to use double negatives in a joking manner.

Yesterday I had my first experience with hot yoga, and long story short, I loved it. I went to a Pittsburgh studio after work with some of the girls I work with. I was a little intimidated at first to be honest because the other girls go to the studio often. I’ve taken yoga classes before, but never hot yoga. They prepared me well, warning me that I should be extra conscious of my water intake all day and that I was going to sweat A LOT. They weren’t kidding. Here is my sweaty face/hair to prove it.

IMG_1029

The class itself was held in a small, one-room upstairs studio. It was quaint but really welcoming. My nerves were immediately calmed because I had a sense that everyone was there for their own practice. I felt no judgement, even as a new student. The instructor was energetically calm, if that makes sense. She was not overbearing, but I could tell that she loved teaching yoga. I also appreciated that she adjusted a few of my poses, especially since I hadn’t practiced in a while.

Once we started, I was sweating immediately. The heat was not on; we were simply using the natural humidity of the room and body heat, but the temperature was still a solid 85 degrees at least. It was warm enough for my first time, I think. I felt very tight to start but quickly loosened up. I didn’t even notice the time go by, although I had to take a few water/towel breaks!

This was a great way for me to get back into a positive, healthy mindset. If I had tried to run with muscles as tight as mine were right off the bat, I probably would have injured myself. Now, I’m all loosey goosey and ready to get back to my fitness routine!

Overall, I really enjoyed the practice! I hope that I can go to more classes in the future. 🙂

And just because I was feeling goofy after my shower, I had some tea before bed. I will leave you with this gem for the day:

IMG_1033

Question of the Day:

Have you ever tried hot yoga?

4 comments

  1. I loveeeeeee hot yoga. So much. I feel like I actually get a legit workout in and it is the only thing I’ve found that helps me relax. Yayyy glad you liked the sweat session 🙂

  2. I hate being overwhelmingly hot, but I feel like I’d probably enjoy hot yoga. I’ve started to go to Pilates twice a week to keep myself a little more loose before I start running again (not as great as yoga but hey, core work!). Sounds like you’ve got a great plan in place as you start working out again!

  3. I LOVE hot yoga! I’ve only been about three times but it is literally one of my favourite things to do. I remember my first time I was so skeptical of everyone that told me to dress half-naked, and then thanked the lord I listened to them while dripping in sweat, haha.

Leave a Reply

