Lentil Stuffed Peppers

Well, I feel like Monday came and went, and I didn’t even comprehend it! Yesterday sure was busy for me, and if that is any indication of what’s to come for the next several weeks… I’ll take it! I was so looking forward to my internship, and yesterday did not disappoint.

One thing I do know is that it is going to take effort to get used to my new schedule. Like I said yesterday, food prep will be a huge help so that when I come home after work, I can quickly grab dinner and veg out (both on the couch and in my meals ;)!).

I gave a teaser of a new recipe in my #MIMM post, and I am here to deliver! This is going to get in my regular meal rotation for sure because it easily makes a few bulk meals to keep in the fridge for a healthy, reheated (delicious) weeknight meal.

The lentils are inexpensive and packed with nutrients, making my Lentil Stuffed Peppers a great vegetarian option.

IMG_0976

Lentil Stuffed Peppers

  • 3/4 cup green lentils
  • 3 green bell peppers, seeded and halved
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 medium red onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • a few shakes red pepper flakes, to taste
  • black pepper, to taste
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp dried marjoram
  • 2 1/4 cups canned puréed tomatoes
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • 5 white button mushrooms, chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cook lentils according to package directions.
  3. Heat oil in a medium pot over medium-high heat.
  4. Sauté garlic and onion until onion is almost translucent.
  5. Add all spices, stir. Cook for about one minute.
  6. Add puréed tomatoes. Bring to a boil, then simmer.
  7. Incorporate carrots and mushrooms into mixture, simmering for a few minutes.
  8. Turn off heat and add lentils. The filling should be scoop-able, not thin and watery.
  9. Spray bottom of a small baking dish with cooking spray. Evenly divide stuffing among peppers.
  10. Bake for 50 minutes. Enjoy!

IMG_0978

Like I said, these reheat well. I recommend topping them with shredded mozzarella cheese! You could even do something with nutritional yeast if you are vegan and want a bit of cheesy flavor.

I also have to add here that before I found the correct size baking dish, I oiled two other pans. I will admit this with no shame. I vastly overestimated the size of my six pepper halves.

Have a great Tuesday!

Question of the Day:

Do you prefer Mexican or Italian stuffed peppers? I don’t have a preference!

3 comments

  1. mmm I usually do quinoa stuffed pepper bus these look great! I’m going to have to try these! Thanks! ps I didn’t know you blogged too! Its nice to run into a familiar face 🙂

Leave a Reply

