Dermatologist Update: MIMM #2

You may remember that, a few weeks ago, I went to the dermatologist. I shared my thoughts about going to see this new kind of doctor, and after my appointment, I wrote about getting the mole on my chin removed. You may also remember that I had a suspicious mole removed from my stomach.

Last week, I received a phone call early on Tuesday morning from the derma office. As it happens, the mole from my stomach was rightfully removed. I was told that the cells were dysplastic (which means they have the possibility of morphing into melanoma). She said that in the case of dysplastic moles, the severity can vary. If the cells are mild or moderate, they are merely watched. When they are severely dysplastic, they remove the mole deeper. Mine were moderately severe, so I am going back in on Friday to have them cut the area out a little deeper.

IMG_0903
This is the area where the mole was cut out. It was the size of a sharpened pencil tip. It’s healing well… but that doesn’t matter much now, huh?!

Now, imagine my concern when I got the phone call. It was fairly early in the morning, so I was still a little out of it. My mind immediately jumped to worrying, but I knew I needed to do a little more research. I learned from the National Cancer Institute’s website that dysplastic moles rarely turn into melanoma; however, people whose cells are dysplastic have a greater chance of developing other moles that are suspicious and/or melanoma.

Interestingly, the mole from my stomach was really small and completely symmetrical. The only clue the derma had to its irregularity was its dark color, which was different than nearly all of my other moles.

Even if I had never developed melanoma in the future, I am beyond thankful that I went to get that full body scan. You can bet that I will be going back for future check-ups as well. This just proved to me that ANYONE can develop irregular skin cells or skin cancer – do not think you are immune.

I’ve only been to the tanning bed for dances in HS, and I will never set foot in one again. It’s not worth it (although I cannot say for sure that those times led to the irregular cells). After my positive experience with spray tanning, I learned that there are safer ways to get a golden glow. We are all individuals and can make our own decisions, but I urge you to listen to the hype out there about the dangers of tanning beds and the importance of getting checked by a dermatologist as well as monitoring your own skin.

Now you may be wondering, why is Ang including this post in Marvelous in My Monday, hosted by the wonderful (and soon-to-be mama for the second time) Katie? Well, I think that its marvelous to be kind to our bodies and take care of them. “Healthy” is more than just eating well and exercising. It encompasses the health of the body as a whole. To be my most marvelous self, I need to get this mole completely removed and stitched up.

Take care of yourselves, and stay marvelous!

Question of the Day:

What have you done to stay marvelous lately?

11 comments

  1. I am so glad you got it removed and hopefully that is the last you have to hear about it. it is scary the damage that tanning beds can do. i still remember my friend would literally go three or four times a week all during high school

  2. I would be so scared if that was me. I have friends who go tanning and I have never had any desire to. I like being tan in the summer but it’s just not something I’ve ever tried, I’m too scared of the consequences. There really is so much more to health than food and fitness, I think people overlook that.

  3. This is certainly a great, MARVELOUS post for all of the women and men out there. I know I myself have freckles and moles, which put me at high risk and constant checking for sun cancers! I have always been afraid of tanning. I hope the rest of your procedures go well!! Keep us updated- you’re in my prayers!

  4. I’ve never been tanning because I’m super paranoid, but this shows how important it is to keep track of your skin even if you’ve never gone or only gone a few times. I’m glad everything checked out for you – I feel like a full body scan is a requirement for everyone now!

Leave a Reply

