Thursday [Things I’m Loving Lately]

Well, well, well, we meet again! Glad to talk to you today šŸ™‚ If you’re reading this in the a.m., I may be getting a spray tan as we speak. If you are reading this later in the day, I could either be a glowing girl or an orange zebra. I will give you an update tomorrow.

Anyway, it’s Thursday, which means I only have three more full classes to sit through for the semester! (Cue party music.) Today I thought I would do something a little different (on my blog, at least) and show you some things I’ve been seriously loving lately. Warning: they mostly involve coconut.

1. Bright green leaves on trees. I don’t think I need to say more than that.

IMG_0657

2. Coconut water. I’ve been adding it to smoothies and drinking it after workouts to help rehydrate, and I am officially obsessed. I especially like VitaCoco brand. That may or may not have to do with the fact that Kroger had them on sale 2 for $4 for two weeks.

IMG_0661

3. Coconut oil. Not in my food though ā€“ I’m still acquiring a taste for it in certain dishes. BUT. It is seriously the best moisturizer I have ever used. I made a coconut oil hair treatment on Sunday, and the ends of my strands have been infinitely less frizzy. All I did for that was melt coconut oil, pour it over my head and rub it in, and let it sit clipped up for an hour. Then I rinsed as much as I could out and let it dry naturally. This is the only downside: my hair was crunchy and greasy, but I didn’t want to use shampoo immediately after because the sulfates would negate the effects of the oil. I slept on it and washed with shampoo and conditioner the next morning. Here’s what my hair looked like with the oil in:

IMG_0643

I also made my own coconut body scrub. It was insanely simple. I scooped a bunch of oil (maybe a 1/3 c.) out, melted it, and mixed in brown sugar until it became a mush. Then I exfoliated in the shower. I’ve done this twice so far, and the second time I decided to use body wash after so that I wouldn’t smear oil everywhere. My skin was still very soft, but I would recommend not following up with soap if you want the full effect.

IMG_0659

4. SoDelicious French Vanilla Coffee Creamer. This stuff has won me over for the consistency of its creaminess. I used to use a CoffeeMate Natural Bliss so that I wouldn’t have all that nasty stuff in the ingredients, but it was just too thin and did nothing for my coffee. I’m definitely not a black coffee drinker! I feel better about this ingredient list AND flavor.

IMG_0660

5. Dates. I can’t get enough of those little guys! Despite the fact that they look like bugs (sorry), they are high on my list of favorite foods. I want to try to make energy bites with them, so check back for that recipe next week!

IMG_0650

6. doyogawithme.com. All the yoga videos are free, and they have a wide variety of styles and class lengths. Anytime I want to do some yoga, this is my go to site. I personally like the Yoga for Runners videos.Ā 

Screen Shot 2013-04-25 at 8.17.30 AM.png

That’s all for today, guys! Make it a good one.

Question of the Day:

What is one thing you are loving lately?

8 comments

  1. Ooh I’m going to have to try coconut oil in my hair. Every time I go home and use my sister’s shower I find something weird in there (last time I found an entire jar of honey..) and I bet you $5 she’s going to have coconut oil in there at some point in the near future.

  2. That body scrub looks fantastic, I think I need to get my exfoliation on soon. And I’m glad you like the doyogawithme videos too! I love the runners yoga and the core fantastic video.

Leave a Reply

