WIAW #10

Hello, hello! Time for another What I Ate Wednesday!

Make sure you show Jenn and the other WIAW bloggers some love over at Peas & Crayons! Thanks as always to Jenn!

Breakfast

IMG_0646

I’m not sure why, but I’ve been craving smoothies like a madwoman. It’s all I want to eat, ever. I’ve been obsessively searching for new smoothies ideas, specifically ones that use coconut. I came up with this one by myself (but I’m sure it’s been done before). It was super creamy, and I attribute that to the coconut milk. I hope you like the pun.

CoconOat Strawberry Banana Smoothie

  • 1 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 2/3 c water
  • 1/3 c light coconut milk
  • 5 strawberries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 big handful spinach
  • 1/3 c oats
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder (I used Designer Whey)

Lunch

IMG_0647

At work yesterday, I had my small lunch, like I usually do. Boy, will I be glad when I have time for a real lunch in the summer. I love snacking, but it throws my whole appetite off. Yesterday I had an apple and a whole wheat English muffin smeared with creamy natural PB.

IMG_0648

Pre-Workout Snack

IMG_0650

I had two dates to get my energy rolling again after class before I went to the gym. Let me just say this: Dates. Are. Awesome. I love them. They really are nature’s candy. They powered me through the pseudo-bootcamp I made for myself, which included 20 interval minutes on the elliptical, 15 minutes of basic weights, and Tina’s tababta workout from Monday. Sweaty goodness!

Dinner

IMG_0652

Needless to say, my belly was growlin’ after my workout since I didn’t have a huge lunch. I had a veg-heavy meal. I baked sweet potato (always a fave), and then I made a savory sauté comprised of chicken, zucchini, red pepper, red onion, mushroom, garlic, olive oil, pepper, and dried basil.

Drink

IMG_0655

Last night, the student magazine I work for had a senior sendoff “banquet” at Sol, where I went with my Mom on Mom’s Weekend. They cleared out the tables to make space for a dance floor, cooked special food trays, and offered drink specials. Since I was full from dinner, I opted for a drink. I ordered a Guava Mojito, which was the perfect combo of sweet and sour. So good!

Have a fantastic Wednesday!

Question of the Day:

What’s your favorite smoothie flavor?

13 comments

  1. I was on a big smoothie kick a few weeks ago but this past week it has been cold and rainy so they havent been quite as appealing. I love adding lots of frozen fruit and fresh spinach to smoothies, I don’t think I have ever tried adding oats to them, I also usually use almond milk but i’m sure they are really good with coconut milk!

  2. I love the traditional banana/peanut butter smoothie, but I’m also a pick fan of any smoothie that involves a mango. I’m sure I’ll be craving more and more smoothies as the weather heats up! And side note: that Guava mojito looks delicious – I love it when drinks aren’t TOO sweet.

Leave a Reply

