Nutty Monkey Muffins [Recipe]

I am really picky about bananas. Like… weirdly picky.

I used to have a strong aversion to the fruit because of the texture. I didn’t eat them for years. Then, I tried to reintroduce my tastebuds to them by eating bananas just changing from green to yellow.

Now, I only like my bananas like this.

photo

So what’s a girl to do when she finds some nasty bananas on the counter that her roommates won’t claim?

IMG_0494

Make banana muffins, of course!

BUT – these aren’t just any banana muffins. No, no. These are healthier, nuttier, and all around more scrumptious.

Friends, I give you Nutty Monkey Muffins. They are perfect with a little swipe of PB on top, crumbled over Chobani (which just deservedly won a Shorty Award for best Retail/E-commerce social media use!), or just by itself!

nuttymonkey

Nutty Monkey Muffins

Makes 8 muffins

  • 2 ripe bananas 
  • 6 stevia packets
  • 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 c natural peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk (I like Almond Breeze)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 c white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 c oats
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 
  2. Mash bananas in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Add stevia packets, brown sugar, and applesauce. Mix with an electric mixer on low speed until well combined.
  4. Add peanut butter, beat until incorporated.
  5. Beat in egg with mixer.nm1
  6. Add almond milk and vanilla extract. Mix for one minute on low speed.
  7. Gradually add flour, beating on low after each addition.
  8. Incorporate baking soda and baking powder, making sure to evenly mix.
  9. Stir in oats.nm2nm3
  10. Coat a muffin pan with nonstick spray. Add about 1/3 c of batter to each tin.
  11. Bake for 25-30 minutes. A toothpick will come out clean when the muffins are finished.

IMG_0514

I hope you enjoy these. I know I certainly did 🙂

Question of the Day:

What’s your favorite type of muffin/bread? I really love lemon poppyseed.

6 comments

  1. Hi! I just found your blog and love it!
    Those muffins look amazing! I have to say that whole wheat bread, toasted, with pb on top is the best. Ciabatta is amazing too. Bread is just good!!

Leave a Reply

