Half Marathon Mondays: 6 Days

Monday once again, eh? I was definitely not ready for this weekend to be over. I had such a great time with my mom, and it was sad to see her drive away yesterday afternoon. I’ll get to the rest of our weekend in a minute, but first I have to address the fact that…

MY HALF-MARATHON IS IN 6 DAYS.

HMM

Holy. Cannoli.

I do not know if I am ready for this. My training has really slumped in the past few weeks, and I am starting to second-guess myself. I didn’t even run this weekend (mostly due to family time/homework catch-up).

I’m running today, and hopefully getting in 6 miles since I don’t want to push it before the race. As I’ve stressed before, I’m not trying to be the fastest. I just want to finish strong.

This week, I’m going to make an effort to stretch every day and/or foam roll, and I am going to be extremely conscious of what I eat. I want to make sure that I am fueling my body well enough to get me through the race… and for the moment, that’s all I have to say about that for today. I will probably mention the race once per post until it happens. Prepare yourselves.

_______________

So just to show you some scenes from the rest of Mom’s Weekend, here’s a huge picture dump 🙂

We lunched with Kaitlyn and Kellie and their moms at Sol, a local Cuban restaurant. Chips and salsa to start us off! Mom tried their mimosa and thought it was good.

IMG_0538

I ordered the Havana Eggs, which was basically just two baked eggs atop tomatoes and peppers. I got fruit on the side instead of bread since we ate a million chips. It was okay, but I probably wouldn’t order it again. I’ve liked other dishes at Sol better.

IMG_0539

Shopping around Athens followed lunch. I think I might look like my mom.

IMG_0541

Saturday night, we went to a wine tasting benefitting the Athens Humane Society. A student PR organization put on the event, and I think that it went very well! My mom and I enjoyed ourselves.

IMG_0544

Look at those classy Kroger glasses!

IMG_0545

I Instagrammed this over the weekend. Our favorite wine was a sparkling pink Moscato from Spain. It was the first wine of the night.

IMG_0549

I think the other wines included a Chardonnay, a Merlot, and a Riesling, and I don’t recall the fifth one. I believe we are holding the Chardonnay here. It was kind of gross. Neither of us liked it. The wine expert said we should have tasted hints of fruit. She lied. We concluded that we must not be “real” wine women if we couldn’t handle this one.

IMG_0550

Mom and daughter. Love her! Sorry for the horrible photo quality.

IMG_0551

This morning, we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast at another Athens favorite, the Bagel Street Deli. It’s a quirky little joint with amazing bagel sandwiches. Both of us tried the “Banana Peel”– cream cheese, banana, and cinnamon on a steamed bagel (wheat for me, blueberry for Mom).

IMG_0553

I had a truly wonderful time with her, and I miss her already (my mom, not the bagel, although it was good)!

Have a good day!

Question of the Day:

Have any race nutrition/pre-race advice for me? I’d love to hear it!

7 comments

Leave a Reply

