Half-Marathon Mondays: Run with Friends

Hello! Hope your week is starting off well. It’s dreary, cold and rainy here, but I’m trying not to let that dampen my mood. I had such a great weekend, and I feel so blessed to have the family in friends that I do. My birthday was wonderful!

IMG_0358

Since it’s Monday, it’s time for another installment of Half-Marathon Mondays!

HMM

I went running with my friend Kaitlyn before my parents came into town on Saturday. We had plans to run at 1 pm, but the weather was looking a little shifty so we headed out at 11:30. It was bright for the majority of the run, but toward the end it started to cloud up.

IMG_0346

Kaitlyn is running the Pittsburgh Half-Marathon in May. Since our races are relatively close, we were at similar mileage and decided to run 9 miles. Our route took us down a residential street and then onto the bike path surrounding the city. We turned around at our halfway point and looped back, reaching our goal.

I was really nervous heading into this run because it’s the farthest I’ve ever run, and I was trying to do it without music. Plus, I didn’t have any place to store Shot Bloks for extra energy, so I was basically winging the whole run.

IMG_0347

I had no idea how I would handle that distance coupled with trying to make conversation, but it definitely wasn’t as bad as I expected. Don’t get me wrong –running that distance was hard. The end of the run went quicker than the first half, though, which I thought was strange. Miles 4 and 5 were the hardest for me, and unfortunately I really needed water after mile six but had no where to get any. Having Kaitlyn as a running buddy pushed me to finish strong, and I am glad that she went with me. 🙂

I have to say, I felt exhilarated afterward. When I came home, I drank some coconut water for electrolytes and ate lunch, and when my parents arrived, they brought my brother’s gift for me: a foam roller! Yay! I love the color. It’s so cheerful! I’ve been digging orange lately. It felt amazing to use the foam roller after that run.

IMG_0374

Nine miles is more than half 13.1, so I am confident that I will be able to finish the race. I needed that confidence boost, and I get more excited about the race day by day!

Question of the Day:

What’s the longest distance you’ve ever run? I’m sure a ton of you have me beat.

8 comments

  1. Nice work on the 9 mile accomplishment. I am training for a half in May and just did seven last weekend which is my longest run yet!

Leave a Reply

