Craving to Recipe

Do you ever get cravings for foods you ate as a child? Please tell me you do, because I don’t want to be the only one in the world who gets hit with weird Lucky Charms cravings. That definitely happened over break, probably because my mom had them sitting in our cupboard.

IMG_0303

They were a special all-clover charm edition. Perfect for the season. Mom just knows when to provide the sweet treats. I definitely had two bowls… in a row.

Yesterday, I was reacquainted with another food love from my childhood. This is going to sound like a very weird combo, but just roll with it: apple chicken.

IMG_0333

What is apple chicken, you ask? My dad would always have leftover chicken after making chicken soup, and my parents needed to use it up. So, they would mix the chicken pieces with diced apples and miracle whip and serve it up on bread.

IMG_0334

I know what’s running through your head. Miracle whip? Apples? AND chicken? Yes, I reply.

IMG_0335

But you have to trust me on this one. I made a healthier version of this classic, and I’m happy to report that it was really tasty! The chicken is much more flavorful if it was used to make soup, but my baked chicken was a great substitute.

IMG_0336

Apple Chicken Salad with Quinoa and Spinach

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz. grilled or baked chicken, seasoned with pepper and little salt, diced
  • 1 small apple, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. Light Miracle whip
  • 2 c. spinach
  • 1/4 c. dry quinoa, cooked according to package directions
  • More salt and pepper to taste
  1. Combine the first four ingredients in a mixing bowl. Make sure each piece is coated evenly with the miracle whip.
  2. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Serve over bed of spinach and quinoa.

IMG_0337

I promise that the tanginess of the miracle whip, sweetness and crunch of the apple, and softer texture of the chicken are a match made in heaven.

IMG_0339

This recipe is so simple but so pleasing. It really satisfied my craving for childhood comfort food on cold day here, and I even squeezed in some superfoods! Can’t beat that. 🙂

IMG_0341

Question of the Day:

What’s a strange food combo from your childhood?

8 comments

    1. I think it would, however Greek yogurt lacks the zip/ sweet tang of miracle whip so I would test different combos see what you think! I know MW isn’t everyone’s thing haha

Leave a Reply

