What I Ate Wednesday #4

Hey, hey, hey!

It’s already Wednesday! I can’t believe it. I thought the week was going to drag, but so far it’s flying by. I can’t wait for the weekend!

I’m back on track at school this week and made sure to get some good greens yesterday. I succeeded, I think! Here we go with my fourth WIAW, and as usual a big thank you to Jenn for hosting the event.

Pre-Workout Snack

IMG_0323

Banana! You’ve seen this one before. I scarfed it down and then got sweaty at bootcamp. The workout yesterday was step-based, which was usual for the class. I hadn’t done step in ages, but it was always one of my favorite aerobic exercises.

Breakfast

IMG_0325

I made a really tasty green monster smoothie to refuel after my workout. I’ve whipped up some really crappy smoothies lately (not sure what I changed…), but this one revamped my confidence in my smoothie creation skills. In the mix: 1/2 banana, 2 large (like weirdly huge) strawberries), 6 slices frozen peaches, 1 Tbsp. chia seeds, 3/4 c. Chobani vanilla greek yogurt, 1/2 scoop protein powder, a gigantic handful of spinach, and enough milk to move it.

Afternoon Snack

IMG_0326

I ate some of Jamie Eason’s lemon protein bars (4 to be exact) and an apple. I was so hungry when I got to work, I forgot to take the picture of the apple before I ate it! Ooops.

Lunch

IMG_0327

I had no idea what I was going to do for a real lunch. I hadn’t brought anything with me for a second meal (note to self: never again), so I bolted to the cafe between classes and bought myself a super fresh and tasty salad. I picked out a base of spring mix, spinach and what I think was arugula. Whatever green it was, it was spicy and I was totally digging it. On top of that, I added tomatoes, cucumbers, red onion, carrots, chicken, and balsamic vinaigrette. Yay for salad. It hit the spot.

Dinner

IMG_0328

I had one thing on my mind for dinner: cauliflower. I think I like the little white trees more than the average joe. Is that weird? I don’t care. I started with a bowl of steamed cauliflower sprinkled with spicy Mrs. Dash seasoning. And ketchup. Don’t forget the ketchup.

IMG_0329 IMG_0330

Then I had a piece of baked chicken and about four mushrooms cut up on the side. I rounded out my meal with a small bowl of brown rice and the spicy seasoning. I was all about the spice yesterday! Oh cravings, how you amuse me.

Nighttime Snack

Well, I didn’t take a picture of this one, but can you guess what it was? Yup, three egg whites with cinnamon and a spoon of PB. I really should have captured the moment because actually I took the time to cook the eggs like an omelet instead of a mug. Oh well.

That’s it for yesterday’s eats. Hope your Wednesday rocks!

Question of the Day:

Have you ever tried different greens than the usual lettuce, kale, or spinach in your salads?

4 comments

    1. Hahah don’t let the glass fool you-it’s huge! And I drank leftover smoothie straight from the blender. Can’t waste any :p They’re so tasty!

Leave a Reply

