Half-Marathon Mondays: Power to the Raisins

Good Monday morning, yinz guys! That’s Pittsburghese for “you guys.”

Before I get to the meat of the post (which is mostly picture-less, sorry!), I just want to say how lucky I feel right now. Nothing is better than spending time with family in my book, and I was blessed enough to be able to celebrate my birthday early yesterday with my mom’s side of the family. I still have all of my grandparents, and I really cherish the moments I spend with them.

IMG_0271

Dairy Queen ice cream cake may have been involved, and I may have eaten a very large piece. Love that stuff.

_______________

To get on with the real story here, it’s the next installment of my Half-Marathon Mondays series! My race is just over a month away, and I’m starting to get pumped!

This past weekend, I ran eight miles, and while I’m not sure if I introduced this to my training runs at the correct time, I brought along some fuel. I’d never run eight miles before, and I was worried my energy would slump around mile five.

All we had at my house on the fly was a container of raisins, so that’s what I took. I filled a snack bag with a little over a fourth cup of the dried fruit, and I was on my way!

This made me laugh. (source)

I decided to eat a few every two miles to see how I felt, and I have to say the raisins definitely helped. I probably could have waited until mile four to start, but this was all in the name of experimentation. I completed my 8 miles in about an hour and twenty minutes, and I felt great. Now, I know that that’s not the fastest time around. But I’m not trying to break any records here, I’m simply trying to finish. I’d rather go slow and steady than push myself and get hurt.

I think that for my next run, I’m going to look into other types of fuel. I plan on purchasing some Gu Chomps or Bloks and testing those out!

I have an interval run on my schedule today, and make sure you come back tomorrow because I’m going to have an ab sequence for yinz (there I go again…).

Have a great start to your week!

Questions of the Day:

Are you familiar with Pittsburghese?

What’s the farthest you’ve ever run?

Leave a Reply

