I’m Running a Half Marathon!

Hello and good morning to you! 🙂

We’re one day closer to the weekend, and I couldn’t be happier because this week has been super stressful – and it’s only Tuesday! I guess that’s what college will do to ya.

_______________

In other news… I’m running my first long race! On April 14, 2012, I will run the Athens Half Marathon, and I could not be more excited.

Screen Shot 2013-02-18 at 7.29.18 PM

I’ve only run in two official races before, and they were both 5k’s. I attempted to run the Athens Half last year, but during about my fourth week of training, I hurt my foot. I’m not sure if it was due to bad form, bad shoes, too much mileage, or what, but it hurt. And it didn’t heal in time for me to pick up my mileage enough to run the race.

 (source)

So this year, I decided to go for it again! I got fitted with new shoes, which are like my new babies. They’re the Mizuno Wave Rider 16, and so far I looooove them. I even sleep with them on at night. Just kidding.

IMG_0117

Marry me?

Today I thought I’d share my training plan with you. The plan is from Women’s Health Magazine, and I think it has a good mix of running plus opportunity for cross training. Plus, the mid-week runs aren’t anything too crazy, so it’s been easy to stay on track.

(source)

I’m actually on week three, and I’m feelin’ good so far! Last Saturday I ran six miles, which was a big first. I’m most looking forward to getting outside to do my long runs because it’s been so darn cold in Ohio, and I’m a wuss when it comes to outdoor runs in the cold.

This is what my basic plan looks like when I altered the Women’s Health plan to fit my school and work schedule.

Training

Since the plan is working well so far, I anticipate sticking to it for the remainder of the seven weeks (!!!!). We shall see!

Have a great day!

Question of the Day:

Have you ever run a half-marathon? Any tips for me?

I‘d love to hear what you have to say, especially in terms of what to eat during the race. That’s the most confusing aspect of long races for me. 

10 comments

  1. Good luck with your first half marathon! I have only done a couple and they are so much fun. I made sure to bring a plenty of water and loved snacking on GU Chomps or Cliff Blok Shots. I really don’t like the texture of Gu and the chomps and Blok shots work perfectly. Super easy for on the go and I definitely recommend them!

    1. Thank you! I’ve heard about the Gu chomps and Blok shots, but I’ve also heard that eating candy helps? The other thing I’m really confused about is when to introduce eating into my long runs.

Leave a Reply

