I Feel Old + Gymboss

I was watching “Good Morning America” two or three days ago, and they had a small segment about the “Harry Potter” series’ anniversary. I’m a total Potter nerd. I’ve read all of the books at least twice, and I park my behind on the couch every time ABC Family has a “Harry Potter” weekend marathon. I also used to go to all of the book releases when I was younger, and my mom and I went to see the movies at midnight (which is so fun to do if you love a series as much as I love HP).

(source)

*Sidenote: Let the record show that I discovered Robert Pattinson when he was Cedric Diggory. I even had a poster of Cedric in my room. None of my friends thought he was anything special back then, but I thought he was smokin’. And look at him now. HA!*

Just look at those adorable rosy cheeks. (source)

Anyway, when they said it was the series’ anniversary. The books are FIFTEEN YEARS OLD. 15!!!! What!? I was honestly in shock.

At first, I thought they couldn’t have the number right, because I’m only 20, which would mean the books came out when I was five. Then, I talked to my roommate, who informed me that the first three books came out when I was really young. I looked into it, and “The Sorcerer’s Stone” was published in the U.S. in 1998, which would have made me six. For the anniversary, new covers are going to show up on store shelves. Here’s a picture of the new “Sorcerer’s Stone” cover. I kind of love it!

(source)

I guess I never realized that the first book release I actually went to was for the fourth book. I even wore a special Potter shirt to it, and I thought I was super cool. After “Goblet of Fire” came out, I think that the whole series + movies seemed to happen so fast. Now it’s over, and the book’s 15th anniversary is here, and I feel… old.

_______________

On that note, let’s move on to a super tough workout I completed yesterday!

I found the workout in the latest issue (March 2013) of Women’s Health magazine. It’s a total body strength routine, and it knocked my socks off. I couldn’t find the circuit online yet, but if it ever does show up, I will definitely provide a link to it. For now, pictures will have to do because I don’t feel comfortable reprinting the workout on here.

WH Circuit

The workout consisted of 10 moves that you were to complete in one-minute intervals, resting as little as possible in between each exercise. After all 10 moves, the magazine suggested resting for no more than two minutes and completing the entire circuit once more.

The hardest thing for me to do was use the correct weight because my needs varied per exercise. Our gym doesn’t have hand weights in a very convenient area for a workout such as this – it’s more for lifting than circuits – so I borrowed a 12 lb. set of hand weights. I decided to modify and use one weight when 12 lbs. on each arm was too tough (which definitely happened!).

To help myself with the intervals, I used an app called Gymboss. If you’ve never heard of it, it’s pretty sweet! It functions as an interval timer or a stopwatch. I created an interval timer specific to this workout, with a one minute period and a thirteen second period to catch my breath and get set for the next move.

gymboss

When each interval starts, Gymboss beeps to let you know to switch/stop/go or whatever you’re doing with it. I really liked the app, and it will definitely get more playtime with me.

I left the gym a sweaty mess after that workout. Let me tell ya, dumbbell speed skaters will get ya!

_______________

Have a great Saturday!

Questions of the Day:

Do you like “Harry Potter?” What do you think of the new cover?

Have you ever used Gymboss?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

